International Symposium on Applications of Ferroelectrics (ISAF)

The annual International Symposium on Applications of Ferroelectrics (ISAF) is sponsored by the IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society (UFFC-S). The first ISAF meeting was held in 1968; since that time, meetings have been hosted all around the world. The first ISAF meeting held in Japan was in the year 2002 (Nara) and again in 2007.

The UFFC-S is one of many societies within the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). UFFC-S has over 2,000 members. As a part of their mission, the UFFC-S sponsors three annual meetings: the ISAF meeting, the International Ultrasonics Symposium (IUS), and the International Frequency Control Symposium (IFCS).

The ISAF meetings are coordinated by the Ferroelectrics Standing Committee (FerroCom) of the UFFC-S. In 2017, there were 45 members of FerroCom who come from academia, industry, and non-profits from around the world. FerroCom meets twice per year and representatives from FerroCom and the ferroelectrics scientific community serve many roles on the UFFC-S Administrative Committee.

The IEEE UFFC-S is interested in the theory, technology, materials, and applications relating to: the generation, transmission, and detection of ultrasonic waves and related phenomena; medical ultrasound, and associated technologies; ferroelectric, piezoelectric, and piezomagnetic materials; frequency generation and control, timing, and time coordination and distribution. This interest ranges from fundamental studies to the design and/or applications of devices, sensors, systems and manufacturing technologies within the general scope defined above.

Membership in the IEEE UFFC Society offers many opportunities for networking and connecting, educating and learning, and disseminating and learning about recent research, technology, and education outcomes.

Access more details and history of UFFC-S and ISAF here.

ISAF 2019 Proceedings

Information regarding the ISAF Proceedings submission process can be found here.

Transactions of Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control:

Following the Conference, select papers will be invited to submit a full manuscript for publication consideration in the 2019 Ferroelectrics Special Issue of the IEEE T-UFFC. Furthermore, the invited speakers and the student paper finalists are also encouraged to submit papers to this special issue.

ISAF Chair

Geoff Brennecka
Colorado School of Mines, USA

ISAF Program Chair

Julia Glaum
Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

ISAF Program Co-Chair

Hiroshi Funakubo
Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Plenary Speakers

Yun Liu

Research School of Chemistry, The Australian National University

Title: Study of Ferroelectrics: Past, Current and Future

Satoshi Wada

Professor of Material Science and Technology
University of Yamanashi

Title: Using Engineered Interfaces and Strain-Gradient Regions to Design Properties in Electroceramics

Uwe Schroeder

Deputy Scientific Director

Title: Ferroelectric Hafnium Oxide and its applications in non-volatile memories, negative capacitance elements, and neuromorphic networks

Kenji Uchino

Founding Director of International Center for Actuators and Transducers
Penn State University

Title: Fractal Aspects and Critical Lengthscales in Ferroelectrics

Invited Speakers

Martin Alexe, University of Warwick, United Kingdom]

Juliette Cardoletti, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany

Gustau Catalán, Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Spain

Long-Qing Chen, Pennsylvania State University, United States of America

Charlotte Cochard, Queen's University Belfast, United Kingdom

John Daniels, University of New South Wales, Australia

Emmanuel Defay, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Luxembourg

Elizabeth Dickey, North Carolina State University, United States of America

Brahim Skhil, Laboratoire Structures, Propriétés et Modélisation des Solides (SPMS), CentraleSupélec, CNRS-UMR8580, Université Paris-Saclay, G, France

Stephen Ducharme, University of Nebraska, United States of America

Lynn Ewart, NUWCNPT, United States of America

Peter Finkel, Naval Research Laboratory, United States of America

Vladimir Fridkin, Shubnikov Institute of Crystallography of Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia

Semën Gorfman, Tel Aviv University, Israel

Marion Höfling, Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany

Jon Ihlefeld, University of Virginia, United States of America

Hamideh Khanbareh, University of Bath, United Kingdom

Ho-Yong Lee, Ceracomp, South Korea

Jingfeng Li, Tsinghua University, China

Céline Lichtensteiger, University of Geneva, Switzerland

Lane W. Martin, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Sylvia Matzen, Université Paris-Sud, France

Leopoldo Molina-Luna, TU Darmstadt, Germany

John Phair, Pyreos Ltd, United Kingdom

Vasudevan Rama, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States of America

Clive Randall, Pennsylvania State University, United States of America

Andrew M. Rappe, University of Pennsylvania, United States of America

Tadej Rojac, Josef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia

James Roscow, University of Bath, United Kingdom

Daniel Sando, University of New South Wales, Australia

Tae Kwon Song, Changwon National University, South Korea

Jonathan Spanier, Drexel University, United states of America

Nicholas Strnad, University of Maryland, United States of America

Scott Summerfelt, Texas Instruments, United states of America

Takaaki Tsurumi, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Julian Walker, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Hong Wang, Southern University of Science and Technology, China

Junling Wang, Nanyang University, Singapore

Xiaohui Wang, Tsinghua University, China

Mingmin Yang, University of Warwick, United Kingdom

Zuo-Guang Ye, Simon Fraser University, Canada

Hiroko Yokota, Chiba University, Japan

Christina Zacharaki, National Centre for Scientific Research Demokritos, Greece

Qifa Zhou, University of Southern California, United states of America

Pavlo Zubko, University College of London (UCL), United Kingdom

Tutorial Speakers

Pim Groen, TU Delft, The Netherlands    
Topic: The road towards flexible and smart electronic materials
Andrew Bell,
University of Leeds, United Kingdom    
Topic: Advanced processing of ceramic (including MLCC) and crystal
Mickael Lallart,
INSA de Lyon, France    
Topic: Piezoelectric and pyroelectric energy harvesting
Long-Qing Chen,
Penn State University, USA    
Phase field method of ferroelectric domain structures