Piezoresponse Force Microscopy

The international workshop series on Piezoresponse Force Microscopy has its origins in 2007 when the first meeting was held in Oak Ridge Nation Lab. This workshop series was organized with an aim to provide in-depth discussions of the continuous advances in Piezoresponse Force Microscopy - one of the dominant techniques for exploring ferroelectric, multiferroic, polar biomolecular, and ionic materials at the nanoscale - and to offer laboratory demonstrations and hands-on tutorials for the PFM practitioners by leading PFM experts. The first workshop was followed by the workshops in Beijing (2010), Vancouver (2011), Aveiro (2012), Nanjing (2013), Prague (2013), State College (2014), Ekaterinburg (2014), Singapore (2015), Oak Ridge (2015), Darmstadt (2016), Atlanta (2017) and Wuhan (2017). Some of the PFM meetings were organized jointly with other international conferences on ferroelectrics, such as annual ISAF meetings. Average attendance at stand-alone PFM workshops now reach 100 participants and the attendance is nearly doubles (~200) when the meetings are held in Asian venues. Currently a tradition that is a decade old, the PFM workshop series has established itself as one of the flagship meetings in a calendar year for researchers interested in nanoscale electronic, electromechanical and polar phenomena. 

PFM meetings are coordinated by the PFM Advisory Board established in 2009. 

PFM Chair

Neus Domingo, Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Spain

PFM Program Chair

Patrycja Paruch, University of Geneva, Switzerland


Plenary Speaker

Sergei Kalinin

Director of the Institute for Functional Imaging of Materials (IFIM)
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Title: Materials on the edge between Ferroelectricity and Electrochemistry


Invited Speakers

Irene Arias, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain

Saikat Das, Seoul National University, South Korea

Donald M. Evans, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Bryan D. Huey, Unverstiy of Connecticut, United States of America

Ji Young Jo, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea

Jiangyu Li, Shenzhen Institute of Advanced Technology, China

Olga S. Ovchinnikova, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States of America

Brian Rodriguez, University College Dublin, Ireland

Tutorial Speakers

Seungbum Hong, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology - KAIST, South-Korea    
Topic: Piezo-sensitive atomic force microscopy: Principles, techniques, and results

Roger Proksch, Oxford Instruments, USA    
Topic: Piezo-sensitive atomic force microscopy in practice